What's new

No Sounds Using HDMI cable (1 Viewer)

oilhuter1

Grip
Real Name
Roel
Ok guys Im newbie here I set up my system that includes bose acoustimas15, Marantz SR5008 and a 55" Phililps smart 3D TV.

But I can't get a sound using HDMI cable the only way to get it is by adding optical cable.

another problem is using my old pioneer HT DVD player I via HDMI I can see the pictures but no sound as well. I tried everything I know but haven't got it well

andySu

Senior HTF Member
I know the manuals are hard to read I find it to be same with my Onkyo TH SR-875 but reading and having more hands on time with it will solve the snags.

It could a few things you have overlooked.

Firstly let me glance at the manual or maybe you should since you have the AVR in front of you. But lets give it a try.

http://m.us.marantz.com/DocumentMaster/US/SR5008U_ENG_CD-ROM_UG_v00.pdf

Look at top of page CONTENTS PAGE 33 -34 Connecting a TV

PAGE 119 HDMI control function
PAGE 120 Setting procedure

HDMI control function

A recent addition to the HDMI standard is CEC (Consumer Electronics Control), which allows control signals from one device to communicate with

another device via the HDMI cable connection. Not all HDMI-equipped devices have this capability.

Setting procedure
1 Set the HDMI output connector corresponding with the
HDMI control function.

Set “HDMI Control” (vpage 150) to “On”.

2 Turn the power on for all the devices connected by
HDMI cable.

3 Set the HDMI control function for all devices connected
by HDMI cable.

• Please consult the operating instructions for the connected
devices to check the settings.

• Carry out steps 2 and 3 should any of the devices be unplugged.
4 Switch the television input to the HDMI input connected
to this unit.
5 Switch this unit input to the HDMI input source and
check if the picture from the player is ok.

6 When you turn the TV’s power to standby, check that

the power of this unit also goes to standby.
NOTE