What's new

Newbie here...Recommendations for a Hi-def DVD(not bluray)/VCR combo machine.... (1 Viewer)

TJSanson

Auditioning
Real Name
Teresa
Hi all, I'm a newbie to the world of home theatre and have a few questions, but first:

I just bought a 55" smart tv. Hi-def and apps and all that stuff. Its a Scepter brand. No ROKU. Looking for some recommendations for a decent DVD/VCR (yes I'm old school) which will retain hi-def picture quality. Not expecting too much from vhs, but my dvd's should play hi-def. On my vintage combo player, they look pixelated. Any ideas or suggestions?

Thanks so much!
T

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
You can't get blood from a stone. Meaning, DVD is NOT "high definition" to begin with, so there is no way to retain something that isn't there to begin with. Sorry, but that simply is the situation. Unfortunately, I doubt there are combo machines, other than very old used ones. There's simply no market for making VCRs anymore.

What you probably need is a Blu-Ray player with good upscaling. I know that's not what you want to hear, but it's the best solution.

TJSanson

Auditioning
Real Name
Teresa
You can't get blood from a stone. Meaning, DVD is NOT "high definition" to begin with, so there is no way to retain something that isn't there to begin with. Sorry, but that simply is the situation. Unfortunately, I doubt there are combo machines, other than very old used ones. There's simply no market for making VCRs anymore.

What you probably need is a Blu-Ray player with good upscaling. I know that's not what you want to hear, but it's the best solution.
Ok, I wasnt entirely sure. Thanks John!

TJSanson

Auditioning
Real Name
Teresa
I agree with John.

But if you've got more questions, keep 'em coming and welcome to the Home Theater Forum!

:welcome: