What's new

New setup from scratch, need equipment advice. (1 Viewer)

Goosey

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim
Hello all!

We've recently sold our home so I'm building an equipment list for the media room in our new home.

Our current house has a great dedicated HT setup built by the previous owners. 100" screen, ceiling mounted projector and speakers, HT seating with a 2nd row riser, dark paint, etc.

So far I've really only picked out the video part, going with a BenQ HT3550 and a 120" screen. I'll also use this for my gaming needs and require a 4K receiver. I've always had Onkyo but it looks like the latest generations have issues with the HDMI and 4K.

I think I'm going to go with a Denon AVR-S740H but would like recommendations.
As for speakers, I'd like to go with a 7.1 setup but have zero clue on brands or anything else really. I'm a noob when it comes to audio.

Not looking to break the bank, and any high-end sound would probably be wasted on me but would love to hear any suggestions and advice you could provide.

Also, not sure if I really need other components like an amp or power conditioner?

Thanks!
Tim

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
My initial impression is that spending 5x as much on the projector as the receiver is way out of proportion. Is audio of that little importance for you?

Goosey

Auditioning
Real Name
Tim
Kind of, but I can be persuaded :)

The only movies that get watched are for family movie nights, and the wife and kids don't like it loud unfortunetly.
For myself, I don't watch any movies only play games. I'm a big gamer with over 1600 physical games in my collection so the 4K is important there. When I am playing a game I usually keep it relatively quite as not to rattle the house.

I would LOVE to have a quaility audio system that helps immerse me into my games but I worry that it'll be wasted money for my usage.