What's new

Building a laptop for a somewhat elaborate home theater - please help (1 Viewer)

steveKlein

Agent
Hey guys... I'm new to the whole HTPC world, but definitely am interested in personal video recording without paying for a service like TiVo. That, and I've heard that an HTPC offers far, far more options than something like TiVo.

In any event... here's my setup.

I will be using an Onkyo AV receiver with a Samsung 40" (or possibly 46") LCD 1080p TV and a very nice 5.1 speaker package from Ascend Acoustics. I'll also have a 400 disk DVD changer, a couple of gaming consoles, satellite TV box, and xm radio in the setup. The equipment rack with these pieces (and presumably the laptop I build) will be located in an adjacent closet to keep my setup "clean". I will be controlling all of the equipment, as well as things like room lighting, ceiling fan, and air conditioning via my Philips Pronto NG TSU 7000 remote. Phew, all done with the background. Now to the nitty gritty...

This system I build for use in my home theater... what do I need!?

There's a couple things I'll be using the computer for:
- TiVo-like DVR features
- Playing music from my PC through my speaker system

I'm not building a system from scratch, but rather using a 3 year old formerly top of the line Dell. I figure this system, with a couple of tweaks, should be more than enough for a good HTPC system. Here are my current computer's stats:

CPU: Pentium 4 2.66 GHz

RAM: 512MB (cannot recall if it is DDR or SD; either way, I'll probably make it 1GB if I need to since it's a very cheap upgrade, right?)

OS: Windows XP Professional Service Pack 2 (Will Media Center Edition do anything Professional won't do?)

DVD Burner: 4x Sony DVDR/RW with Nero Burning Rom (this is fine by me...)

Hard Drive Storage: Plenty; 240 gigs or more