What's new

New construction home theater setup (1 Viewer)

Ryano50

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan
Hello all,
I’m looking for advice on a new construction home theater room. I’m a newbie in the world of home theater so any advice you can give on any of these topics or others would be appreciated:
  • Sound proofing
  • Electrical
  • Acoustics
  • Screen size
  • Room layout
  • Speaker placement
  • Lighting
The room is framed so can’t really change the room dimensions but electrical and lighting haven’t been setup yet. I’ll include some pictures of the layout and what I have so far. My budget for the components(not including seating) are TBD but I want to provide a great experience in the room.
Thanks in advance,
Ryan
6527CC22-691E-46C7-ADFA-C713C8C0F6A2.jpeg
4549395C-84A8-4C0E-8704-05247A768A58.jpeg
A3CC6F7A-44B6-4D27-9F03-48FCBC5BA4A7.jpeg
705B6037-E7F8-492D-B8E3-E849EBB7D626.jpeg

ManW_TheUncool

His Own Fool
Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
ManW
Welcome to HTF, Ryan!

Probably would help to get at least some (very) rough idea of your budget for this... though the vague info (and mentions of desired things like soundproofing and "acoustics") would seem to suggest you can allow a very sizeable budget (at least) for the whole project, but still... is it 20K sizeable or 100K sizeable or whatever in between (or much less... like below 10K) though?

Also, are you considering projection at all since your plan indicates TV? OR are you definitely too in love w/ the look (and HDR presentation) of the best that flat panels offer to trade that for the more immersive size (and general cinematic look) of projection?

Offhand, I'd also wonder if you really need the middle riser section to be 7ft deep as they makes that middle row of seating a lot farther from the screen than the front row -- 7ft is a rather big diff for viewing distance... plus it probably also compromises the audio setup some (more than usual), particularly in a relatively narrow space like this.