What's new

new member looking for HT advice! (1 Viewer)

audiodunce

Auditioning
Real Name
david
Hello,

I’m a newbie and would appreciate some good advice. I’m trying to make the most of the following scenario.

I recently moved to a duplex apt. and would like to get surround sound for my main entertainment area in a small basement room that’s 9 feet x 15ft with a 7ft ceiling. I’m putting a flat screen on a wall facing the shorter dimension so viewers will be about 8-9 feet from the screen.

I currently have a Technics SA-DX930 receiver and no speakers. My 'wife-approved' budget for right now is $500 although I might be able to leverage a bit more with a compelling argument.

Should I slowly build a system and start by investing in a couple nice speakers like the two fronts and maybe a sub? Is that possible for around $500? If so, does anyone have good suggestions? I’d need speakers/sub that work well with my current Technics receiver (100 watts x 5 channels) and would also work well with a new receiver/system when I upgrade in a year or two.

My other option is to spend the money on an HTIB like the Onkyo TX-SR605 system that gets good reviews. This might work well for me cause I don’t need overwhelming power for my small space and I can’t picture spending more than 2-3 thousand total on a system over the next few years. I haven’t had any surround sound ever, so maybe I’ll appreciate an inexpensive HTIB enough as is.