What's new

Projectors for "presentations" vs HT? resolution? "refresh rate"? (1 Viewer)

rexb

Auditioning
Real Name
Rex Bickers
I am a newbie. Purchased my first home theater system in the past 45 days, with a little bit of trial and error (for example, bought a Denon AV receiver, but decided to take it back and now have an Onkyo; likewise bought a moderate-to-low-end screen, and decided that it didn't look one iota different than my plain white wall - - perhaps because my HT speace was purpose designed to have very favorable light control, and a "just-right" ceiling mount location, relative to the throw and "fit" of the image on the wall left blank just for this use)...

We're very, very happy with our system - - we think that our Optoma HD70 is a goodly part of why we have avery good result - - even if I have since learned some ways and "wheres" that might have allowed us to have just as good or better for (slightly?) cheaper... (maybe HD DVD, for example and mail order with no sales tax and free shipping as well)...

...and certainly we got a lot of WOWs from the various family members who spent Thanksgiving day with us...

...not the least of which was one of our (adult) daughters who wants advice and help with trying to create her own starter HT system.

She started with the question/observation... "aren't there a lot of projectors in the sub $400 range now? and even cheaper on eBay?"

My initial reaction was pessimistic. "No", I told her... "a projector will likely cost you twice that".

But since, I have been combing through the bargain priced projectors. both new and used... and I do wonder - - what do you get from a projectors that costs less than $500 (new) or under $250 used?