What's new
World Wide Stereo

Need help on new home theater setup.... (1 Viewer)

ChristInBen

Auditioning
Real Name
Ben
Hey guys,

I'm brand new to the home theater scene and I'm going to setup a home thatre system in my house which I purchased as an early Christmas present for my family, so I would really need all your expertise in helping me setup my stuff to get the video and sound I want.

So here's my equipment:

- 42" Sharp AQUOS 1080p LCD TV (LC-42D62U).
- Yamaha HTR-6030 Receiver with YHT-280 Home theater package (Includes 5.1 speaker/subwoofer system).
- Logitech Wireless DJ Digital Streaming Music System.
- LG LDA-831 1080p HDMI Up-converting DVD player.
- Rogers Pace 551 HD Digital Set-Top Box with HDMI.
- Panasonic VCR (To be most likely connected through composite cables, however, I'm looking for a VCR with an S-Video connection).
- I want to purchase a PS3 later on to use as a PC as well as a gaming system as I plan to dual-boot it with Linux.
- PC to be connected sometimes through a VGA to component cable connection or a DVI to HDMI connection.

The last two are optional as I don't have them right now, but let's continue as they do exist right now.

So basically, I'm planning to wall mount the TV and also wall mount all the speakers except the center channel.

In regard to connection wise, I plan to pretty much go through the TV for everything that is a main component (as the receiver doesn't have an HDMI connection), and just wire an optical cable from the TV to the Receiver for sounds.

So I plan to do this:

Rogers HD Box - HDMI (TV)
DVD - HDMI (TV)
VCR - Composite (TV)
TV to AVR - Optical
Logitech Wireless DJ - RCA

When I purchase a PS3 and hook up my computer, I shall make the following modifications:

PS3 - HDMI (TV)
PC - VGA to Component or DVIto HDMI (TV)
Pace Box - Component (TV - as I only have two HDMI ports on the TV).