What's new

Need assistance on buying a 5.1 pc speakers system to enjoy my Blu-rays/4k Blu-rays (1 Viewer)

Konstantinos

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Konstantinos
Hello all.
I'm in a kind of a desperate need of assistance.
I'm a novice as far as speakers and A/V receivers are concerned, and things seem so complicated to me. :wacko:
I recently bought a pc with this motherboard:
https://download.gigabyte.com/FileList/Manual/mb_manual_z590-vision-g_1002_210527_e.pdf
I already have a 42'' 4K monitor.

I'd like to buy a 5.1 speaker system that can decode DTS HD-MA and Dolby TrueHD audio (I was leaning on the Logitech z906 speakers but I just found out that they don't support HD audio).
So, what do I need to buy if my budget is, let's say, 1000 euros at the most?

Lord Dalek

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joel Henderson
Asuming your computer has HDMI passthrough you could try a YHT-4950DAB. I don't know how much those cost in euros though.

Konstantinos

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Konstantinos
Thanks for your reply.
This is the back of my motherboard. So, I need only that HDMI port, that is unused right now? I won't be using those colored audio jacks?
20210208121835_09cc6118.jpeg

The price is good, within my limits and much lower.
Unfortunately I cannot find a store that ships them to Greece. :(

edit: Oh, I found one for YHT-4950U (I don't know what is the difference with 4950DAB but it can't be much). It's 950 euros with shipping, however customs is not included.

Last edited:

Lord Dalek

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joel Henderson
Yes you would just have to plug in your computer into the reciever using one HDMI cable (HDMI transmits both video and sound information) and then connect your monitor into the reciever's HDMI out.

Now the YHT-4950U is the US model, I don't know if it would work with 50hz voltages without some sort of transformer adapter. Good luck.

YANG

Screenwriter
Thanks for your reply.