What's new

My Infocus X1 First Impressions (1 Viewer)

Todd Terwilliger

Screenwriter
To preface:

My previous television was a Sony 27" Wega. I have no prior experience with larger TVs or projectors.

I knew that light control was going to be key so I made sure my livingroom was projector ready before investing in the X1. A set of denim drapes close to cover the only large window in the room.

On to my impressions:

I received the X1 on Friday as well as the component to VGA converter (the component to s-video converter comes in tomorrow).

I ceiling mounted the projector and hooked up the VGA input to my XBox via the converter and the XBox HD pack and my receiver through the s-video input.

I am projecting (for the moment) onto a bare off-white wall.

Setting up the projector itself was extremely easy. Set it to ceiling mode and I was off and running.

The first image I watched on the X1 was the opening screen of Halo on the Xbox. I have to say, the image looked awesome to my admittedly untrained eye.

Being aware of the rainbows issue, I didn't want to doom myself by looking hard for them but I also wanted to be honest to myself. Well, my eyes detected not a single rainbow. Over the weekend, I had several friends over and none of them saw any either. Needless to say, I was relieved.

Although I'm not yet using the optimal non-progressive setup for my DVD player, the output was very watchable through the s-video connection (dvd player to receiver to X1).

I calibrated using the Avia DVD. The X1 has three configurable presets, so I saved a couple of different configurations to mess around with.