What's new

Is this a good deal? (1 Viewer)

paezrobert

Auditioning
Real Name
Robert
Hi. First of all I just want to let you all know I'm new to this whole home theater deal so please bare with me.

Two days ago I was researching HDTVs and I found a Samsung 40" LCD LNT4061F with a Samsung HTIB HT-AS720 and Geek Squad home installation for $1,599. I went to a local Best Buy and the guys there weren't very helpful, plus the PQ did not look good on their display model of that TV.

I went to a Circuit City accross the street to get a price match, except that they didn't have the Samsung HT-AS720, so instead they matched a Denon AVR 588 receiver with Polk RM6750 speakers for the same price. It seemed like a good deal so I bought it without much research, while knowing that I do have plenty of time to cancel installation and return everything if I didn't like it after some research. So I've been looking up reviews and trying to compare it all online but it gets confusing to a noob like me.

I also bought an XBOX 360 Elite while I was there, which I hope will be a good match with this TV.

My questions are:

1. Did I get a good deal?
2. Should I stick with what I got or return it and get the deal at Best Buy, or something else entirely?
3. Should I keep or return Circuit City's 3 year extended warranty on the TV for $219?
4. What cables do I need to hook all of this up, and where should I get them?

The installation is set up for this Tuesday, so any help or suggestions before then are truly appreciated.

Thanks a lot in advance,
Robert

paezrobert

Auditioning
Real Name
Robert
Oh, one more thing, I can probably get another $110 back from Circuit City under their 110% Lowest Price Guarantee because Fry's has the same speakers advertised for $100 less than what I paid. Just FYI.

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Hey Robert. Welcome to HTF! :)