What's new
World Wide Stereo

Getting Started (1 Viewer)

Kenny Li

Agent
Hello all!

I'm new to this forum and this is my first post. I am new to home theaters, so I have a feeling that what I say will come back to haunt me when I start getting serious later on down the road.

Anyway, the reason I am looking at setting up a home theater is I am renovating and I've heard that this will be the perfect time to set up wiring so that the wires can he hidden.

Now a little background information. I live in an apartment, so my living room will be my home theater. This is an open area with the dining room. The total area is approx. 350 sq. ft.

I plan on using a 37" LCD TV. Please feel free to suggest projectors if you deem appropriate. However, the reason I decided against a projector is operating in daylight. I also usually watch more TV than movies.

Anyway, to the setup. I currently have nothing. Because I am still a newbie, I'm still very much into aesthetics. Everything has to look good. I really prefer not to have several huge speakers sitting in my living room. Plus given that I have neighbors, I don't think I'll get to blast the system too loud anyway.

So, I went to a home theater store and they suggested that I need to spend roughly HKD 50,000 (approx. USD 6,500) for speakers and an amp. They suggested the Denon AVC-A1SR amp (it seems like a top of the line amp) and said that they will come back to me with speaker suggestions. They mentioned using something like a bipolar rear speaker (what's that?). They also said that I need floor speakers.

Now here's my question. It sounds like he's hooking me up with a good system, but is it too good? I really think that USD 6,500 is a lot to spend. I'm looking more at the USD 4,000 and below range for an amp and speakers. Am I cutting myself short for the size of my room? Or is the salesman selling me too advanced a system? I know it's all relative, but I would like to see what you guys think. How much should I set aside?