What's new

Denon AVR-1612 and Klipsch Reference Series RF-62 (1 Viewer)

duyhung0185

Auditioning
Real Name
Duy Hung
Hi all,
I'm new here and i'm still a beginner in term of audio equipment.
I bought a Denon Receiver a few months ago, model AVR-1612.
I'm looking to change my front speaker from the Jamo E6 to the Klipsch RF-62, but i'm hearing different opinion from different seller.
The one from Klipsch speaker dealer said that my Receiver may not have enough power to drive the Klipsch RF-62, and while its ok to connect the speaker it may not sound as good. While another one from other shop said that it's ok to match them.
The Denon AVR-1612 is rated 75W (8 Ohm) / 120 W (6 Ohm) x 5 channel.
Can my receiver play fine with these speakers ? My room's small, and i live in crowded urban area, so i wont be cranking up the volume any time soon.
Thanks you all for your help !
Best Regards,

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
(Third try, I keep losing this post all of my own doing.)
Klipsch has those speakers spec'd at 8 ohms with a sensitivity of 97. The Denon AVR-1612 will be able to drive them with absolutely no problem (unless Klipsch is outright fudging their specs.) I can't understand why the Klipsch dealer thought you'd have a problem; I'd love to know what he thought was required. (If he also sells amps, then I probablyI have my answer.)
Whether you need those large towers in a small room is another story. I'd most likely go with good bookshelves and a better than required sub.
Anther issue for you is matching the center channel. Typically you want the front 3 speakers to be matched. If you are currently running unmatched fronts and don't mind, then you'll probably be fine. Otherwise you might notice an diconcerting difference as sound pans across your front stage, You may just want to put a matching Klipssh center on the shopping queue as a next purchase.

duyhung0185

Auditioning
Real Name
Duy Hung
yeah well,