What's new

How do AVR's volume display correlate to power output? (1 Viewer)

papamorff

Auditioning
Real Name
Nathan
Hello,

I'm just getting into the hobby and am curious how power is represented by volume displayed by an AVR.
From what i've read, it's relative to your receiver's max power output (i.e. 90w AVR at 0db is max power/channel driven).

My REAL question is how does that play into an external amplifier?

Like i said, I'm new to the hobby, and I've ordered a pair of RF 7 iii and RC-64 iii that i plan on driving with an Emotiva XPA Gen 3 amplifier in conjunction with a Marantz SR-6015.

If all of this is hooked up, and no adjustments are made via software, is there a way to know what wattage is being pushed to the speakers without connecting any external test equipment?

Do pre-amp channels go off of the same metric that regular, driven channels do (0db is max wattage/channel driven by the amp)?

Any advice on the matter is really appreciated. Thanks!

-Nathan

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The simple answer is, there is no real-world or established correlation.

Believe me. Possibly the most wide spread misconceptions in home audio regard this topic. It’s very compicated.

The good news is, in the end it also doesn’t really matter. What were you hoping to get from that information, if you had it?

Last edited:

papamorff

Auditioning
Real Name
Nathan
Mostly knowledge, I suppose.

I also don’t think it would hurt to know if I’m pushing my speakers too hard. I’d imagine a lot of folks will read that and scoff, but I can’t imagine how knowing a limit, and what percentage of that limit, I’m running them at would hurt.

Thanks for the reply!

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Hello,

I'm just getting into the hobby and am curious how power is represented by volume displayed by an AVR.