What's new

Basement set up advice (1 Viewer)

KJG67

Auditioning
Real Name
Ken
Hi everyone. I'm basically a novice in the A/V world. I’m working on finishing my basement, and need some help regarding speakers and a receiver. I hope the info below makes some sense, as I'm trying to learn all of this.

The basement is L-shaped. The small, bottom part of the L will contain a surround system for TV/movies and gaming. I already have that set.

The area I need advice in is the long, rectangular section. The far end will have a bar and seating area (1/3 of the room), and the other 2/3 will be a pool table. Part of my concern is the area over 2/3 of the pool table will have a 7.5 ft ceiling while the other 1/3 and bar area will have a 9 foot ceiling due to structural and mechanical issues I can't get around. Width of the area is about 14 feet, and length about 27 feet.

For this area, sound will only be for sports from the bar TV, and music either from the radio, a turntable, or internet. Due to all of this, a surround system doesn’t make sense to me. Just for example purposes below, I’m throwing some Polk Audio speakers in for example. Total budget for receiver and speakers – I would like to keep it around $700 if at all possible.

So my questions/problems:

[*]TV will be behind the bar. Will probably use a soundbar for this area to keep it simple.
[*]I’m leaning towards using ceiling mount stereo speakers (Polk RC6s possibly), but am concerned about the ‘width’ of the sound with the low ceiling. I really don't know how many speakers I need, but placement is the concern.
[*]I was considering one centered over the pool table, but that may bounce sound off of the pool table light. I don’t know how much that would affect the overall quality. Sound would at least disperse reasonably equal around the table otherwise.