What's new

Atmos for beginner ? (1 Viewer)

Kagy

Auditioning
Real Name
Ken Gardner
Hi, newbie here with a Covid limited budget. I'm looking at a Sony STRDH590 ( $279 ) vs a Sony STRDH790 ($349 )with Atmos as my first receiver. I only have 5 Boston speakers and 1 sub right now and will hope to upgrade to better in the future. Is the Atmos and 7 speaker option worth the extra $$? I have a recent Samsung 4k UHD. tv. Thanks

Kagy

Auditioning
Real Name
Ken Gardner
I am also considering the Denon AVR S750H on sale at Best Buy for $349. Any thoughts on any of these

Rob W

Screenwriter
Real Name
Robert
If it's worth it is a subjective answer. Have you heard an actual Atmos soundtrack played back on an Atmos setup ? That would give you an idea of what to expect. Atmos can be quite subtle on certain films and often helps fill out the soundstage without a lot of height specific effects. If you're one of those guys who wants sound constantly coming out of the extra speakers because you paid for extra speakers, then Atmos is likely not for you.

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Ambassador
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
I find that an Atmos receiver with an Atmos soundtrack is more immersive, even with a non-Atmos speaker setup. There's data to support that, since Atmos steers sounds differently, even if you don't have any overhead speakers. So, that's a point for getting the Atmos capable model.

In general, I'd suggest Denon over Sony anyway. Only you know how much the extra $70 will strain you, but in those low price receivers, a small increase in cost tends to have significant benefits.

Kagy

Auditioning
Real Name
Ken Gardner
Thanks Rob W , I am not aware if I have heard anything played back on Atmos. We mostly stream movies and an occasional blu-Ray. The extra $$$ were not the deciding factor, future expansion is what I wondered about

Kagy

Auditioning
Real Name
Ken Gardner