What's new

Are there any Human Resources Professionals here? (1 Viewer)

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
I'm struggling in a large company to break into HR as a recruiting coordinator, or some other entry level position, and I'm curious about others' career paths that led them into Human Resources. Anyone?
------------------
McPaul.

Tom-G

Screenwriter
Real Name
Thomas
Paul, my degree is in Human Resources. It's very difficult obtaining HR positions that are any good in the Pittsburgh area.
My first job out of college was HR-related. I worked for a firm that focused on unemployment cost control. Companies would contract us to handle all aspects of HR. I did unemployment claims, tax account auditing and hearing representation.
In a twist of fate, I got laid off and collected unemployment! I'm working for the United States Postal Service now.
From what other HR professionals have told me, recruiting is a great start. Many HR people have started there. If you can't break into recruiting, see if you can specialize in one area of HR since it is a broad field of work.
------------------
As for the bad rap about the characters--hey, I've seen space operas that put their emphasis on human personalities and relationships. They're called "Star Trek" movies. Give me transparent underwater cities and vast hollow senatorial spheres any day. --Roger Ebert on The Phantom Menace
AIM: Aureus91 / DVDs / ICQ: 58566493

McPaul

Screenwriter
Real Name
Paul M
Thanks Tom. Yes, it is extremely broad. I've tried to get my way into HR department of our company through recruiting, or even learning services, but sadly, most HR functions are in Vancouver, not Calgary. I really dont mind the move but it's horribly hard to get your name out in the HR community in Vancouver. I really don't like what i'm doing for the company now, but if I stay, it might all pay off in the end. It's just very frustrating. I'm going to go down there this week and talk to someone to try and get some advice.