XBox and using a computer monitor

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Neal_C, Apr 28, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, my neighbor has a 21" CRT monitor that he wasn't using, so we thought it would be nice if when we played at his house, I could hook up to the monitor instead of his standby 13" TV (yes, we could use a bigger tv, but not without transporting one from my house or taking a tv from his wife [​IMG] )

    He was going to buy the VGA adaptor, but I told him to hold off and we would see if I could get what I have to work. I have the HD pack. So I pulled it off my tv and got out my component to VGA breakout cable that I used when I was thinking about getting an X1 projector (I ran component out of my dvd player to vga in on the X1).

    So we plugged the HD pack into the Xbox, plugged the component cable end into the HD pack and plugged the VGA end into the monitor. We turned everything on and we got a picture, but it is completely saturated in green (it basically looks like you are using night vision on Rainbox Six all the time, even the menus). I tried switching the cables around, but if the green component cable isn't plugged into the green plug on the HD pack, the monitor won't sync and you get no picture. I can unplug red and blue, but green has to stay in green.

    Anyone have thoughts? Shouldn't this work? Is there something we are missing?

    Thanks,

    Neal
     
  2. Christ Reynolds

    Christ Reynolds Producer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    CJ
    i hear that the only way for you to accomplish that is for you to put a modchip in the xbox. i may be wrong, but of course, according to the rules, i have to stop here. but remember, i could be wrong [​IMG]

    CJ
     
  3. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That is interesting. No prob on modchip talk, I have done my own research in that area [​IMG]

    I thought there was a vga adaptor either made by a 3rd party of MS, but I guess I will have to check on that.

    Anyone else?

    Thanks,


    Neal
     
  4. Christ Reynolds

    Christ Reynolds Producer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    CJ
    funny, i just installed my modchip last week. now that i think of it, i remember seeing a link for some kind of adapter, but i'm not sure if you could use it with a stock xbox or not. i'll try to find the link, but i didnt pay much attention to it at the time.

    CJ
     
  5. Shawn_Z

    Shawn_Z Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmm. cannot posts links yet.

    Try this one. www(dot)x2vga(dot)com

    hope that is not against the rules. [​IMG]
     
  6. Romier S

    Romier S Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 1999
    Messages:
    3,526
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    The poster above was right. The X2VGA is a great solution. You can also take a look at the VD-Z3 VGA Adapter. Also works with PS2 and GC games (480p only).
     
  7. Neal_C

    Neal_C Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The X2VGA does look pretty good, but they sure are proud of them. I had just found an article over at teamxbox about the VD-Z3.

    Thanks guys. Not sure if we will decide to spend the ~50 bucks or not, but atleast now I know there are options out there.
     
  8. Cameron Yee

    Cameron Yee Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    11,777
    Likes Received:
    683
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Since 2006
    Real Name:
    Cameron Yee
    I would go for the VD-Z3. Someone on this forum has both it and the X2VGA and he said the Z3 it has better image quality. It's also more versatile and cheaper!
     
  9. RudyN

    RudyN Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mundelein, IL
    Real Name:
    Rudy Nunez
    I'm using the Key Digital Systems XBlaster which gives me great results. Cost me about 99$ when I bought it about a yr or so ago. I can also use my GC with it.
     
  10. Jonathan Perregaux

    Jonathan Perregaux Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    882
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Real Name:
    Jonathan Perregaux
    I use X2VGA with my 21" flat panel and I love it.
     

Share This Page