WinDVD doesn't recognize anamorphic video

Discussion in 'DVD' started by Dan Rudolph, Jun 1, 2003.

  1. Dan Rudolph

    Dan Rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use WinDVD 3.1. Starting a few weeks ago, it plays everythng 1.33:1, including anamorphic video. It used to be fine. I can't find anythign in the preferences to fix this. Any ideas? Intervideo won't support it because it an OEM version.
     
  2. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry I can't help, mine hasn't messed up. I've got 4, and when you right click on a playing video, you can change the way it displays the image. It's under "widescreen mode." I don't know if 3.1 has that feature.

    Computers and HTPC Area
     
  3. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    You probably set it to P&S everything
     
  4. Robert Dunnill

    Robert Dunnill Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    375
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.85:1 anamorphic will look like 1.33:1 if the aspect ratio isn't set correctly.

    I've never used 3.1, but 2.X has a setting to "lock aspect ratio" or something like that, which determines whether the image proportions need to be modified or not to display properly on non-16x9 equipment.

    RD
     
  5. Dan Rudolph

    Dan Rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it has a P&S option. Anyway, this isn't P&Sed. It's showing the whole signal in a 4:3 window. 3.1 doesn't have a widescreen option in the right-click menu. I can re-size the window, but I have to eyeball it and I can't resize it in full-screen mode.
     
  6. Francois Caron

    Francois Caron Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    2,143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Francois Caron
    Have you tried accessing the pop-up menu while a movie is playing in full-screen mode? There should be options in there to specify the aspect ratio of your display. You might have accidentally hit a hotkey that alters the active aspect ratio.
     
  7. Dan Rudolph

    Dan Rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nope, same menu as usual when in full screen.
     

Share This Page