What's new

Why no sub for critical listening? (1 Viewer)

Ellen

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Ellen
I've seen post after post indicating that anyone interested in critical listening in a music system would not use a subwoofer. What I haven't seen is a credible explanation on why this would be so. I'm having trouble understanding why a well designed subwoofer properly placed in the listening room and carefully integrated with the high frequency speakers would cause a system to be less suitable for listening, critical or otherwise. Any of you care to expound on this?
And please, let's not turn this into a slug-fest. I am genuinely interested in why people say this.

Howard_S

Supporting Actor
I am no expert but I turn my sub off for music nonetheless.

I think that most people think you should not use a sub for critical listening is because even the best sub will probably be slower than ideal in its bass response. Maybe I don't have the best sub in the world but I think that allowing my speakers to do the work results in the most neutral and natural sound. If you have a great set of speakers I see no reason why you would want to use a sub unless you really want more bass.

One other reason is that when listening to music most people believe that the less circuitry the sound has to go through the better. As I said I think it has to do with the sound being more neutral and natural when a sub is not used.

Steve_Ma

Second Unit
Great question!

I tend to disagree. I am not exatly an "audiophile," but I like my music a great deal. I have found that without using a sub, my main speakers lose some midrange and upper end clarity. I think complex bass is simply too difficult for my main speakers to accurately reproduce. The mids/highs suffer as a result. With the sub engaged, the sound is more enveloping and the total range seems improved.