What's the latest on the dual tuner for DirecTivo?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Camp, Sep 19, 2001.

  1. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone heard anything? I've been waiting for Tivo (or DirecTV) to enable the second tuner in my Sony SAT-T60 for almost a year now!
    Thanks in advance,
    -Camp
     
  2. Scott Stevens

    Scott Stevens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 1999
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The software rollout is under way in batches. All subscribers should probably have it by the end of October at the latest.
     
  3. Pat Frank

    Pat Frank Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2000
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I purchased my DirecTivo a couple of weeks ago, and got the 2.5 upgrade the night after the dish installer left the house. I've read over at the AVS forum that some folks have had success by calling on the telephone and demanding the upgrade. Of course you'll need two feeds from the dish (dual LNB) in order to dual-tune.
    The new software works very well. There's a new switch on the Display panel that gives you a text readout of what's showing on the other tuner, and you can switch quickly between tuners at any time with down-arrow. Changing channels with the Channel button while it's recording results in a switch to the other tuner as well (as you might expect). It will record on both tuners at the same time, even if you're watching a previously recorded program. (How it manages all that simultaneous drive i/o without disk thrashing is beyond me, but it does.)
    ------------------
    Pat Frank, MCSE, MCT
    [email protected]
    Miami, FL
    (NOT the author of "Alas, Babylon", but thanks for asking.)
    System: Yamaha RXV-992, Klipsch speakers, Panasonic DVD and a terrible TV!
     
  4. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool! Thanks for the info guys!
    Does 2.5 implement picture in picture? That ought to be possible now that we've got dual tuners running.
     
  5. Scott Stevens

    Scott Stevens Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 1999
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It does not support PiP. There are 2 tuners, but not 2 discrete outputs. The current hardware will never be able to do it.
     

Share This Page