What's new
World Wide Stereo

What to do when one channel of TV audio output goes out? (1 Viewer)

Crymar

Auditioning
Real Name
Cass Rymar
I initially posted this in the basic forum, but it appears to belong here. I'm new to the forum, and as a home theatre novice, I need some advice. I've got a 2-channel stereo audio amp connected to the audio outputs on my Sony 51" LCD projector TV so I can listen to TV sound through my two big stereo speakers. However, the left audio channel in the TV itself went out, so now only one channel of TV sound plays through the amp. DVDs, CDs etc. play fine through both speakers, so the problem is definitely a blown audio circuit in the TV. Since I don't use the TV speakers at all, I'd hate to pay to have the audio repaired if there's a way to avoid it. Will using an AV receiver give me two-channel sound without repairing the audio circuit in the TV? Not having any experience with AV receivers, I assume that an AV receiver bypasses the TV audio circuit by amplifiying the audio signal right from the AV coaxial cable. Also, is it possible to hook up two stereo speakers to a 5-channel AV receiver and still get good stereo sound? My TV is in a small room and there's no need for 5-channel surround sound. Any advice on solving this problem would be greatly appreciated.

728x90

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
An A/V receiver cannot process audio from a coax cable, you need a TV tuner for that and receivers do not have tuners. You could use an old VCR or a cable box for a tuner and utilize the audio outs from either of those. That's about the only option you have, besides reparing/replacing the TV.

Crymar

Auditioning
Real Name
Cass Rymar