What's new

using car audio cable for ht (1 Viewer)

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
i was an installer for a couple years, and i acquired a shitload of car audio speaker wire (in the order of hundreds of 50ft rolls), and ive been using it for my HT setup. i dont have nice speakers yet, but when i do, should i upgrade my wire to "HT" wire? for my front 3, i'm using rockford fosgate 12ga wire, and the sides and rears i'm using rockford 14ga wire. if it will make a difference, i'll get new wire with the speakers, i like to do things the right way, and when i have the money, thats what i'll do. but i dont want to spend more than i have to, especially when i have possibly over a mile of this shit lying around my attic. any help or links would be appreciated. happy holidays.

CJ

RussKon

Stunt Coordinator
you are about to open a whole line of discussion about the merits of "wire"....

my opinion...fwiw....no difference...copper is coopper...alot of people will have differing opinions...but you will have no problem using your wire...

russ

Christ Reynolds

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
CJ
you are about to open a whole line of discussion about the merits of "wire"
thats what i didnt want to do, ive read those discussions before, and they never go anywhere. basically, when i get good speakers, i'll try out some 'good' speaker wire. if i hear a nice improvement, i'll keep it, if not, it goes back. basically, i was indirectly looking for someone else who has used car audio wire before.

CJ

george.Legeza

Stunt Coordinator
I've used some 12ga car speaker wire for my radio/music setup in the past and I really didn't notice any difference when I "upgraded" to HT speaker wire. The only real bonus for me was that the car audio wire had a cheesy blue cover and the HT wire blended in with my walls better. Copper is copper and it really shouldn't make all that big of a difference especially since most car audio speaker wire is fairly high quality.

Chu Gai