What's new

Two Channel Tube Amp for Music (1 Viewer)

Jim Noble

Grip
I am looking for a used two channel tube amp to drive Paradigm Studio 40s, but:

a) I know nothing about tube amps, and

b) I have almost no budget left after AVM-20 and Rotel RMB-1095.

Any suggestions for ebay searches or used gear stores would be appreciated!

Kevin T

Screenwriter
as an intro you might wanna consider this monoblock tube amp. i have no idea what kinda power you're looking for but this amp is a 10 watter. i can't say anything about the sound / build quality since i have no experience with it but the price is nice at $119.00 each.
antique sound lab wave dt
kevin t

kevitra

Second Unit
I own the ASL Wave 8s. They are great (my first tubes). I highly recommend them. I use them with ACI Sapphire IIIs and couldn't be happier.

Saurav

Senior HTF Member
What's the sensitivity and impedance of those speakers? As an interesting side note, the Studio series is no longer mentioned on the Paradigm website.

I own the ASL Waves, and they work fine with my 88dB monitors, but you really should be looking for 90dB+ with those amps. And a very flat impedance curve, that's important. If you want to try out tubes, you might be better off trying a preamp, that gives you some of that sound without having to worry about amp/speaker matching and related issues. There are many ways to integrate a stereo preamp (tube or SS) into a multi-channel HT system, and they've been discussed several times on this board. If you're interested, search for "unity gain" and "home theater bypass".

Earl J

Stunt Coordinator
Also check out www.vtl.com I had a chance to listen to some of their mono blocks with some ML speakers the other day. Very nice! I see some of them being sold used on audiogon.com

Martin Rendall

Screenwriter
Saurev,

On the main Paradigm page (after the intro), you have to click the picture on the top right, labelled "Reference Product" It's still there.

Jim/all,