What's new

International Sweet Charity comes to blu ray France August 24th (1 Viewer)

Thomas T

Senior HTF Member
It arrives in France courtesy of Elysees. Considering how French blu and DVDs are insistent on forced subtitles, I hope this is an indication Universal will soon release it in the U.S.

Tony Bensley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Anthony
Small chance, I'm afraid. Again....region-free, my friend!
Sorry to barge in here, but if you've read the above 3 posts, it should be clear that "Region Free" isn't the primary issue in regards to this specific release, but the tendency of France's video releases to use Forced Subtitles. Just saying! :)

CHEERS! :)

Reactions: PMF

RobertSiegel

Reviewer
I am also keeping my fingers crossed, I have been writing to Universal every single week for 4 years to release Thoroughly Modern Millie and Flower Drum Song on blu-ray! Maybe this is a sign of good things to come.

Dick

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rick
Sorry to barge in here, but if you've read the above 3 posts, it should be clear that "Region Free" isn't the primary issue in regards to this specific release, but the tendency of France's video releases to use Forced Subtitles. Just saying! :)

CHEERS! :)
There are programs that can remove these, but point taken. At the opposite end of the French Blu-ray subtitle issue is that, for their indigenous titles, English subtitles are sometimes not included at all.

Thomas T

Senior HTF Member
Of course, we don't actually know if Sweet Charity will have forced subs so when it's released hopefully we'll find out for sure then make a decision to buy or pass. I have the French DVD of Alain Resnais wonderful Providence (1977) which gives us both French language and English language options and no forced subtitles. Since the cast are English speaking (Gielgud, Bogarde, Burstyn etc.) I went with the English language version but the French language version has some well known names (like Gerard Depardieu) doing the French dub.