What's new

Speaker Selection/Setup (1 Viewer)

Jason Lovely

Stunt Coordinator
Greetings. I am a newbie in the HT arena, so I've obviously got a lot of questions as to how to set up my system correctly. Right now I've got a 32" Toshiba TV, and I'm using my XBOX as a DVD player connected through component cables. I also have a Sony DVD player, but I haven't had a problem using the XBOX so far. I'm planning on buying a Denon 3802 receiver, but I'm pretty stumped about speakers. I'm thinking of simply going to Best Buy and picking up some Cerwin-Vegas, but I have some questions. I'm planning on using the floor-standing LS-12 model for the main front speakers, the LS-5C model center speaker, and the LW-12 model sub. First of all, the LS-12 speakers don't have video shielding, so how far away from the TV is a safe disatnce? Second, does it matter if the center speaker is not at the same height as the front main speakers? If I put the center speaker directly on top of the TV or the entertainment center, it will be higher than the front main speakers. Does it matter where I place the sub? Finally, I have no idea what to do about surrounds. Are the surround speakers supposed to be satellite speakers? Also, since the Denon 3802 supports THX 7.1 (I think), does this mean I need to buy 4 surround speakers? I read somewhere someone was using the LS-8 Cerwin-Vegas as their surrounds. Is this acceptable? My other problem is that I guess I would have to put the surrounds on stands behind my couch, because my living room is pretty open; I don't think I could place them on the walls. I realize I'm asking a lot, but any information you could provide would be extremely helpful. Thanks.

Jason Lovely

Stunt Coordinator
Whoops...the Denon 3802 only supports 6.1...oh well...same question for this...extra rear surround?

Greg_R

Screenwriter
Real Name
Greg
http://www.cheaphometheater.com has some good equipment reviews you may want to check out prior to your speaker purchase.