What's new

Sound Level Help for a Newbie! (1 Viewer)

Eric Taylor

Agent
Hello...I am new to the HT world and recently bought a older system off my brother. He had the RCA RT2300 system he bought and has recently upgraded his and gave me this one at a good price. Okay my problem is this...I don't understand how to set up my speakers to get optimum sound. The levels go from -10db to +10db. Can anyone explain to me what this is? Also, I have read on this forum that some people talk about setting the levels to 75db. Is that the master volume setting or what? Please any information on how to set this up would be of great help. Thanks.

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.
Go to radio shack and get an SPL meter.
Also try buying Video Essentials to calibrate your home theater speakers. I would search in eBay as I have found the best prices there. When your receiver is set at 0db, the reading on the SPL meter will be about 75db so if you add like +10db on the receiver it gets to 85db, but this is with the test tones that comes with Video Essentials. During movie viewing it may not be the case.
Hope it helps.

Eric Taylor

Agent
Okay so now let's see if I got this right. When I get my SLP meter I should set my speakers all at 0db for each of them right? And then set up the SLP meter where the sweetspot is while I watch the movies and then mess with the volume for each speaker to make them 75db from that spot...is that correct? Also, would the THX sound optomizer from either Xmen or Star Wars Ep1 work the same as Video Essentials until I can get me a copy of it? Thanks again.

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
eric -
welcome to the forum! :) you've found a great place to ask questions!
regarding your speaker level questions...think of it this way. you're volume is the "master" volume for all the channels. the +/- 10db adjustments are the "fine tuning" for each of the channels.