samson S1000, S700 or other pro amp as a mid/high amp?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Curtis_Edwards, Sep 27, 2001.

  1. Curtis_Edwards

    Curtis_Edwards Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can these amps be used as a good mid/high amp? I need to drive my rear/side surround speakers with one of the above. Will my sound deminish since it it not a sub?
    Thanks in advance.
    -- Curtis
     
  2. Curtis_Edwards

    Curtis_Edwards Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess no-one has tried this [​IMG]
     
  3. Mike LS

    Mike LS Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2000
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd direct the question to SVS. They've probably tested those amps every way possible.
    Logic says that it'll work fine.....Samson amps are designed for pro audio use. Those types of amps are most normally called on for mids and highs.
    Granted, using a pro amp for HT use isn't going to get the best available sound. Pro and HT amps are designed differently, but I don't think you're going to notice a diminished sound using the Samson.
    In a situation like this, just try it and see what you get (if you've already got the amp.)
     
  4. SVS-Ron

    SVS-Ron Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,074
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've used a Samson S-700 for my mains for some time now and must vehemently disagree that "pro amps" can't sound as good as anything out there. The typically are built BETTER than most consumer gear (just judging by the fit and finish, and layout of the boards if nothing else), and far exceed the ability of most folks hearing I'd guess.
    Properly balanced with my Denon receiver feeding them they can drive my mains with ease and without a hint of harshness. Just clean, totally unbiased sound.
    And my Denon never get's warm any more. Only running surrounds now. Running all 5 channels it would get HOT at near ref. level movie watching. A Samson on the other hand runs cool as a cucumber no matter what I throw at it. Polks, JBLs, or SVS's.
    On a performance/price basis I think entry level pro equipment like Samson is just about the best buy in the industry (excepting SVS subs maybe ;^)
    Ron
     
  5. Dan Hine

    Dan Hine Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Agreed Ron,
    So called "pro" amps rock! [​IMG] They are built to take a beating (ever see a union crew unload a truck?) and give out good clean power (of course, like everything else, brands may vary). Also I want to add that such amps (Samson, QSC, Crown, Crest, etc.) are very often used to drive subs as well. In fact I have a set up with 4 QSC amplifiers. One for the highs, one for the mids and 2 for the subs (two subs with twin 15's each). And usually at a cheaper price. I can get 6 channels at 200watts per for $1500. And that's ROCK SOLID gear. The only amp I know of that comes close is Outlaws amp and that's just 5 channels. But to each their own I suppose.
    Curtis,
    How are you running your system now? Could you use the Samson amp for your fronts? I'm not sure what you are using now so maybe this wouldn't be an upgrade. Just curious. Best of luck.
    Dan Hine
     
  6. jeff lam

    jeff lam Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Real Name:
    Jeff Lam
    PRO audio amps can run anything within the bandwidth. Look at the specs. These amps are actally not designed to run subs, however they do an excellent job at it. Just as any other PA amp. They will be just fine. Quality wise, not as good as say a marrantz, or other H/T amp but they will work well for any aplication.
     
  7. NishanF

    NishanF Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2001
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was looking at the various Samson amps and was unclear exactly what servo-controlled means. The higher models (700 and 1000) lack this feature. Thanks,
     

Share This Page