Questiong about HT receiver turned when off...

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Michael Clayton, Jan 24, 2004.

  1. Michael Clayton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This may be a silly question, but bear with me, I'm still new to the game...

    In the midst of my research and shopping for a new system, I remembered something... I won't be the only one using it. While I will have no problem whatsoever running all of my components through my receiver and turning it on every time, my fiancée would probably whine and complain about having to do so once we're married and she has moved in.

    *sigh*

    The question is, when the receiver is off, is there a default device that has a "pass-though" so to speak? What I mean is, is there some way that the receiver will automatically push the feed from my digital cable box through the component out to my TV when it is off? Or does it vary for each brand?

    Edit: Yikes! Please excuse the subject line typos!
     
  2. Michael Clayton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  3. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    heh is it that difficult for your lady to turn the power on?
     
  4. Michael Clayton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    C'mon now, you know its not that simple, especially when the significant other isn't a techie or audiophile. [​IMG]

    Worst case, she'll just have to get over it. I'm just wondering if AVR manufacturers have considered such things.
     
  5. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your cable box should have an RF pass-through, can you hook that up to your TV? Does your TV have an antenna or cable in hook-up? If not I think you will have to teach her how to use the HT. [​IMG]

    I don't know of any receiver that will pass anything through when off.

    Edit: If you have an HDTV cable box, you are most likely out of luck.
     
  6. Michael Clayton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep. I'd have to switch the TV to that input, but that's an option. I think she'll get with the program, though. No biggie.
     
  7. SeanMartin

    SeanMartin Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get a universal remote with programable macro buttons. You could set it up so all she has to do is press Macro 1 to watch TV or maybe Macro 2 to play the VCR/DVD. A friend of mine has done that so his family can use the system when he's not there.

    Sean.
     
  8. Michael Clayton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have the money to put into a $100+ remote. I'd rather put that into the system itself right now.
     
  9. SeanMartin

    SeanMartin Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Get a cheaper one. They don't have to cost $100 to get the macro programing. Heck you don't even have to like the remote, so long as it works for her.
     
  10. Stephen Weller

    Stephen Weller Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. Mike_Skeway

    Mike_Skeway Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have faith, she will probably learn if she wants to watch, or she will just make you turn it all on for her. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page