What's new

Projector quandry! (1 Viewer)

Rene Bremmer

Auditioning
Hi, I'm new to the Home Theatre Forum, but I've been researching my theatre for a few years now and have finally started construction. I am building a themed theatre (LOTR) and would like everything THX certified.

My problem is this: According to THX specs I Need a 106" diag. wide screen (16X9) at 12' viewing distance My projector throw will be about 12' and I need to find a conservatively priced ($2000-$2500) projector that will give me an excellent picture. If anyone can help or give a reccomendation that would be great! Thank you, and I will start scanning in pictures of my progress soon.

Rene' Bremmer

Doug_H

Supporting Actor
I am not aware of any PJ that can throw 106" from 12' but there are some options using a mirror.

I have never done this but there is info on the web and I am sure someone here can help. The basic idea is that you shoot the PJ backwards into a mirror which reflects a larger picture.

Now that being said a 106" picture that is watchable from 12' if that is your intention will probably not be found for that money.

I am watching at 13' and have a 96" picture. The PJ is 15' so I figured I could take advantage of the max size. It was impossible to watch the movie without scanning your eyes back and forth which made us dizzy and caused headaches. That was at 105"

I am among the group that believes THX is a marketing ploy. You pay THX to slap a logo on your equipment and it is supposed to be the best. It just isn't so. In line with that my understanding is that THX requires a 16x20 room that may be unattainable as well.

When THX started placing their logo on computer speakers and cars I realized they provide some basic guidelines that help but it is mostly about marketing.

imho I could be wrong :)

Rick Guynn

Second Unit
The new Sanyo Z2 as well as the older Z1 and the Panny 300 have tht kind of throw. All are under $2k.