What's new

Please help - limited buget (1 Viewer)

Hi all!

I'm just getting into HT so I don't have a HUGE budget to buy all my stuff. I trying to stay under $2000 for everything.. I can get a dalite 8 foot screen and X1 for $1100 which leave me with $900 for receiver, DVD player and speakers.. I know its a tight budget but I was wondering if anyone had any input as to some good priced items? I can go a little over but not by much.. maybe $2500 max.

My main goal is to watch DVDs and play X-box..

My house will be built in June and I have a 20X14 foot basement fot my HT..

Thanks in advance!
Rob

luke_ha

Stunt Coordinator
i like the Hk230 reciever you can get that for 325
are you gonna be listening to much music. what are you looking at in speakers.

honestly i would first pick out the speakers. figure out how much you are gonna spend on them. Just got the fluance SX-HTB. havent gotten to listen to em yet but my wife says they sound great. Are you looking at a SUB. After those questions are answered we will be able to move on.

It will be just for watching DVD and playing my X-box..

So I'll need a receiver, 5.1 speaker setup and a DVD player.. I know I can get a decent Sony DVD player for like $120 so thats no big deal.. I'm more worried about the receiver and speakers (and powered sub)... The receiver has to be able to switch the 2 HDTV signals.. doesn't have to be SUPER loud..

Anthony*B

Stunt Coordinator
any prog. scan DVD player around 100$ (or use your XBOX, better yet)
Fluance SX-HTB - 300$
Dayton Sub - 125$
that would leave you $375 for a nice low-middle end receiver if you shop around enogh (i bought a Pioneer VSX-D511 (?) for 169$ Brand new about 6 months back (it was the previous years model)...

if you could find a deal like that on the receiver, you'd come in under budget & pretty happy I think (though i would use up every last $ you had to get a better/more powerful receiver to fill up that room!