What's new

Picture quality of FP versus RPTV? (1 Viewer)

Eric T

Second Unit
I currently have a Mits 55807 RPTV which I have tweaked a bit and am quite happy with the picture quality. However, after seeing some FP setups in my local AV store, I would very much like to get a large screen FP system!

Assuming I can sell my RPTV for about $1500 or so, I would have $3k-$4k to spend on a FP and screen.

I'm just wondering if I will be able to match the picture quality of my RPTV with an LCD or DLP projector in this price range? I'm very new to projectors, so any input would be greatly appreciated as I contemplate this change in my system. Also, any advice on which models to check out would be welcome.

Greg Robinson

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Greg R
Hi Eric. There are several front projectors worth considering in your price range. Check out projectorcentral.com for reviews. To name a few, check out the new Piano from PLUS Home Theater, the TW100 from Epson and the PG-M20X from Sharp. Each of these units has gotten very solid reviews. I too am currently searching for a projector in this price range and I'll likely buy one of these unit between now and Halloween. Gotta be ready for fright night! ;)

James Zos

Supporting Actor
Damn Greg, you hit my thinking exactly! I want to get a projector by Halloween but the timing is a bit tricky. New Panasonics coming out of Japan plus CEDIA mean the future for affordable projectors is kind of a question mark at the moment ... Better to wait a while, but I can't miss the perfect night for a little horror film festival!

Eric T

Second Unit
Thanks for the recommendations, Greg. I have already been reading posts about a couple of those models, and also about the AE100 and the 13HD.