What's new

off topic-----> car audio (1 Viewer)

What cd head units are best, 4 speakers?
Any specific bands the are better than others? (sony, panasonic, alpine, JVC, kenwood, many others) I have about $250.00. i want a simple low cost setup that sounds good and clean. i will be sdding a sub later so i need 1 set of pre outs.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
My last Sony ES CD head unit was 7 years old, never skipped or had any problems. I can give the ES line a strong recommendation, and $250 should get you into that range with ease - look around online. I have some experience with the lower line of Sony, and it was not as positive.
I also had the Infinity Basslink sub, and I was extremely impressed with it (got it for $200).
------------------
All progress is based upon a universal, innate desire on the part of every organism,
to live beyond it's income.
ITRCA ** Link Removed (sorry, car guy)

Kendal Kirk

Stunt Coordinator
I currently have a Panasonic and have had no problems with it. I have had Kenwood before and like it also. Kenwood and Alpine were some of the leaders that started the craze in the early days and either produce a great product.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Alpine has great sound, but also has been notorious for quality issues. Not always worth the $$ either, unless you get a good price. I had a farily expensive one for a while, and I was so unimpressed with it, I swapped it out for the above mentioned Sony.
The best unit I've ever owned is Eclipse.
------------------
All progress is based upon a universal, innate desire on the part of every organism,
to live beyond it's income.
ITRCA ** Link Removed (sorry, car guy)

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
My Denon head unit has been a workhorse and sounds great with the Kenwood amp running my Blaupunkt 6 1/2 coax speakers.
------------------
Rich