What's new

Newbie Looking for Audioholic recommendations (1 Viewer)

Terri M

Agent
I'm brand new to the home theater/audio world and have been trying to come up with some selections for two rooms in my home. We are starting from scratch. Aesthetics is a factor in our great room but not the den.

I've been trying different speakers in the major stores and I hate to say this but, the only speakers I seem to like are the Bose Lifestyles.I've read enough to know there are better speakers out there but I mention this because I like the sound. The booming sound of some systems doesn't appeal to me. I know the volume can be lowered on sub-woofers but why does the bass seem to overpower what I'm hearing? I don't think it's my hearing because I don't get bothered in the movie theater.

Here are some particulars:

Great Room: 20x24x16H (Open floor plan)
wood floors, area rug
Display: Samsung 50" Plasma

Audio System:frowning:$2000 - $2500)
Bose Lifestyle 38,
Ascend Acoustics,
JBL Studio Series,
Rocket ELT,
Aperion 5.1,

Receivers:frowning:$300 -450)
Pioneer VSX-1015,
Dennon 2105,
Harmon Kardon

Den: 18x14x9
Display: Samsung 50" RPDLP (1080P)

HTIB: ($500 - $800 budget)
Onkyo HTIB LS-V955
Athena Micra 6
Paradigm Cinema 110

The rear speakers in the den need to be wall mounted.

The den would probably better for the theater experience given the ceiling height, however this room doesn't seat many. The great room is where we gather for football games and movies with friends and family.

Any thoughts for a total novice would be appreciated.

Terri

Greg-ST

Stunt Coordinator
The reason you may be liking the Bose system better is because their setups in the store are designed specifically to sound their absolute best in that particular setting (and their best is typically well below even "budget" speakers). Don't be fooled by the smoke and mirrors. Spend your money wisely and get some robust speakers to try out in your home.