What's new

Need Help With VCR Set-up (1 Viewer)

JonStivers

Auditioning
Ok, I'm new to home theater. I consider myself fairly technical, but I've encountered a situation I can't figure out. Specifically, I can't get the video output from my VCR to display through the receiver to the TV/Monitor. Here's my set-up:

Marantz SR-9200 A/V Receiver
Marantz MV-5100 VCR
Sony KP-61HS30 TV/Monitor

I have the standard cable to the TV through the VCR. Everything seems to work with the VCR and TV on set on Channel 3 (without using the A/V Receiver).

The VCR is connected to the A/V Receiver with Monster Stereo Cables and Monster S-Video Cables(in and out - and yes they are connected properly).

The connection from the A/V Receiver to the TV/Monitor is a Monster component video cable.

Here's my dilemma. I tried to copy a DVD to VHS. The audio recorded fine but I had no video. I played the tape through the A/V Receiver and directly to the TV (through the cable) with the same results. OK, I figure that even though the manuals say this should work I figure it's the DVD's copy protection that's causing the problem. So I played a pre-recorded VHS tape in the VCR. Again, through the cable to the TV on channel 3 everything works fine. However, when I tried to play the tape through the A/V Receiver, I get the audio but no video (yes I changed the TV to the component video input). So now I'm thinking I have a problem with the S-Video connections between the VCR and A/V Receiver. I relocated all the connections on the A/V Receiver from VCR-1 to VCR-2 and got the same results. Can't imagine that the S-Video in/outputs are bad on both VCR connections, so I route the stereo and S-Video output from the VCR directly to the TV's front input. I reset the TV's input to the front, play the tape and everything works fine!