What's new

Need alot of help hooking up TV/DVD/RECEIVER/VCR ... total newbie here (1 Viewer)

Adam-D

Auditioning
Hello,

I desperatly need help setting up my system. For some reason i'm very confused. The thing that is confusing me is that my TV is fairly old and it only had a cable outlet on it, it doesn't have the video/audio out things (the red/white/yellow). I have a VCR, DVD and Audio Receiver (SAD-X750). They are all very new and they all have the proper outs and ins. Could someone please tell me how im supposed to hook them all together? SInce my TV can't go directely to my receiver, I hooked it up to my VCR. Then what do I do? Do I just hook my VCR to my receiver, and my DVD player to my receiver? Or do I hook my receiver and dvd player to my VCR? Sorry, I know i'm a total newbie, but i'm also a very frustered newbie and any help would be greatly appreciated. I have 5 speakers and a subwoofer too, so i'm going to be hooking up surround sound, and I would like all my stuff (tv/vcr/dvd) to have surround sound too, and preferably i'd like to beable to control all my stuff through my receiver. If anyone can help me please post here. Sorry if I havent been descriptive enough, if you need more information ask me.

Thanks tons,
Adam-D

Mark Larson

Supporting Actor
See, the long and the short of it is that you can't hook up your TV to your DVD optimally. The sound won't be a problem, but the video will - you'll have to (probably) get a device to convert the signal from the composite (yellow RCA/phono plug) to RF (antenna). If you connect it through your VCR, it is likely you'll get Macrovision (disturbance in the picture). You can try it, however.
What size TV is it? This might be an "opportnuity to upgrade"... :D

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member