What's new

My dad bought me a HT from BB, need help with return/exchange advice... (1 Viewer)

bgsitizen

Auditioning
Real Name
stefan
Hi all, recently I bought a house and sterted thinking about a home theater. I have an AKAI 42" (no HDMI) rear projection TV which for now swits my needs and I dont plan to upgrade in the next two years. Last week on Craigs list I found somone that lives near me and was selling a brand new pair of JBL E60's and a JBL EC25 for $200. I went and picked them up right away and I hope so I didnt make a mistake buying them before really reading about them. Next that happens is my dad decides to buy me something for the new house so he goes to BB and he buys:

Denon AVR-1907 reciever ($549+tax)

Mirage OMNI S8 subwoofer($299+tax)

BOSE 161 surrounds($140 for a pair +tax)

Now, I'm a newb so I'm totaly unable to tune this setup, it sounds like crap. My living room is 17x15 so I think the sub is adequate. The reciever is ok I guess but I'm not crazy about it.

Here is my dilema:

I'm keeping the BOSE surrounds, I like the way they sound and look. I dont know about the sub (I love the wat it looks) and reciever especialy after I checked what my dad paid for them. He thinks he knows everything so I really need to prove him there are better stuff for the money he spent.

I was looking at the Pioneer - Elite VSX-80TXV Receiver or the 1016, are they better than my Denon?

Also I've read thet the S8 is an awsome sub for music(which I listen to a lot) so maybe I can tune it right.

Do I need HDMI to future proof my reciever...? So many questions....

I'm sure many of you could put their self in my shoes so please help.

I have a month to make up my mind.

Thanks!

Ed Moxley

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Ed
I think your dad did a pretty good job, except for the Bose. I, and most people into HT, have nothing nice to say about Bose! You can buy much better for the same money. See this review: http://www.intellexual.net/bose.html