What's new

LAPTOP: 15" XGA Vaio...is XGA too low? (1 Viewer)

elMalloc

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Reuben
Best Buy has a Sony Vaio Laptop that has everything I'm looking for except the screen..I'm not quite sure of it. I'm a programmer so I do need some real estate:

P4-2.0a ghz
256 DDR
CDRW/DVD
ATI Radeon 7500C (32MB DDR)
15" XGA screen
$1350

Not having fiddled with many laptops, I need to know if I should look at the Dell's laptop which is the same price - but a 14.1" screen (SXGA+) and doesn't have the Radeon 7500C (so can't play any games on it).

Thanks for any info,
ELmO

TerryS

Agent
Thats not a bad deal. I'm typing this on a Dell Latitude C840 with the 15" Ultrasharp XVGA screen, P4 2.2, 64MB Geforce4, 512 RAM, dvd/cdrw, etc, but it cost around $2700. So you can get a Dell with what your looking for, but it'll definitely cost you more than the Sony.

elMalloc

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Reuben
Actually I noticed the latitude is much more expensive even though most of them come in a very small screen size (12"). I saw the Inspiron 4150 and was able to get it in $1300 with the same specifications except it has a 14.1" screen SXGA+, no DVD/CDRW, and a plain ATI 16MB VidCard and this sony is with DVD/CDRW, ATI 32MB Radeon, and a 15" XGA screen.

An Ultrasharp XVGA screen is 1600x1200 isnt it? How do your eyes deal with it? I'm 22 but still, Idon't even use 1600x1200 on my 19" monitor. THe real estate is nice but it hurts my eyes - lol.

My question is would you go for a 14.1" sxga+ (1400x1000 or something) or the 15" xga (1024x768)?

Thanks,
ELmO

TerryS

Agent
It took me about 4 hours to get used to 1600x1200. My previous computer was running on a 19" monitor at 1280x1040, which obviously created bigger text. I can see the pixels in letters now on my old monitor.

If you don't like the higher resolution, the newer video cards do a nicer job of smoothing out the fonts so that they don't look like crap at lower resolutions.