What's new

Is Classe better than Proceed and on par with Mark Levinson? (2 Viewers)

Ricky T

Supporting Actor
I've been debating with a friend whether or not his Classe CAV-75 75x6 amp "doubles" into 4 ohms. He insists that it will do 150x6 unbridged into 4 ohms. Classe doesn't have any 4 ohm spec for this amp, bridged or unbridged.

Then he tells me that Classe is above Proceed and on par with Mark Levinson. Thoughts?

Please support HTF by using one of these affiliate links when considering a purchase.

Kevin T

Screenwriter
if i remember properly, most classe amps do double down from 8 to 4 ohms so it's not unlikely that the cav-75 is 150 watts x 6 at 4 ohms. i have no real world experience with any of the brands you mentioned by i was under the impression that proceed and levinson were both made by madrigal and i have heard classe referred to as a "poor man's krell" so i'm not certain it is really on par with the levinson gear.

kevin t

ManojM

Stunt Coordinator