If DirecTV says it's DD why doesn't my Onyo 696 pick it up?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jake T, Nov 4, 2001.

  1. Jake T

    Jake T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    There are quite a few broadcasts on DirecTV that says it is in Dolby Digital. Sometimes when I tune to one of them, my receiver (Onkyo 696) will automatucally switch to that (Which it should) but on other channels, where it has the Dolby Digital logo, my Onkyo's display switches to "Dolby D" but then back to "Dolby PLII"(Pro-Logic 2).
    Is the broadcast in DD 2.0 or is my receiver not working properly?
    [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Jake T
    --"The Things You Do In Life Echo In Eternity"
     
  2. Ken Stuart

    Ken Stuart Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2000
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, many of the DD broadcasts on DBS are in DD2.0 rather than DD5.1 .
     
  3. Jake T

    Jake T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Ken [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Jake T
    --"The Things You Do In Life Echo In Eternity"
     

Share This Page