What's new

I am a car audio converted to home audio, and need guidance (1 Viewer)

Brad Hamme

Auditioning
Howdy, I am a newbie here and have read tons of awesome information, which leaves me with a few questions. I am updating my old "home theater" system and needed help. I listen to music/movies 85/15. I currently have a pioneer vsx series receiver, Bose 301 (Bose is the best right? j/k) and a cerwin sub. I just purchased a pair of paradigm monitor 9's off of a friends recommendation, but i have no intention of connection them to the pioneer. I was looking at a marantz 6200, but i would rather go with separates if possible. I would like to keep the budget to around a grand for the amp/pre amp, but I am not sure what route to take. I have seen Proton mentioned, but I am skeptical because of the low price. If anyone has info on the as-2631/2580 I would love some feed back on them. I am also very open to suggestions. If going the receiver route would be wise at this time, Suggestions for those would be great. I have seen people talk about the Sherwood Newcastle 9080 used, the myryad t-70, and adcom gfa 7300. I realize i would be over 1000 with a pre, but again, if it is worth it value and quality wise, I don't mind too much. Many thanks to anyone who has read through this massive compilation of unorganized thought, and also to those who respond.

chung_sotheby

Supporting Actor
I think that if you want to keep your budget under $1k, and listen to Music/Movies 85/15, then maybe your best bet is a combination seperates/receiver combo. What you could do is get a decent receiver with pre-outs for around $400 or so, and then get an integrated amplifier (like one of the Anthem models), hook up the main pre-outs to the SSP loop and you will have the best of both worlds. If you are willing to spend over $1k, then I would have to suggest going into seperates, buying the amp first, as you can always use a good amp.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Welcome :D