What's new

How to Use a Linkwitz (1 Viewer)

JimRHIT

Stunt Coordinator
Ok, I have read(and got really excited) about the BP1803, and keep seeing everyone say that it would be great sealed with Linkwitz....and I have no idea what that exactly mean
frown.gif
Questions:
- how does one use this method?
- how does one accquire one of these(what do they look like)?
- how much power would be required to drive this sub?
- how large of a box is needed?
Sorry for not being up to date, but I am new to this, so someday I will repay the favor to someone...just need to learn from you gentlemen first. :)
------------------
Jim Walter
- my system -
Marantz SR7000
Sansui QRX9001
Klipsch Reference
Rectilinear III(ancient)
Velodyne VA810

Brian Bunge

Senior HTF Member
Jim,
It's a Linkwitz Transform Circuit. It allows you to put the driver in a relatively small enclosure and "transform" the response to whatever you'd like it to be. For instance, I'm looking at an 1803 in a 5ft^3 enclosure (including stuffing) that will end up with an Fb of 18Hz and a Qtc of .5. The Fb before the transform is around 46Hz and a Qtc around .6.
You have to either use the Marchand BASSIS unit (around $400 complete or $250 for the kit), or you can build a specific circuit for less than $20 (that's my guesstimate). It's basically an opamp with a few resistors, capacitors, and a power supply. I'm looking at about 2000 watts for my alignment. The smaller the enclosure the more power required. I had looked at a 2.5ft^3 enclosure but I think this was going to require over 3000 watts.
Here's a link for more information.
http://sound.westhost.com/project71.htm
Jack will be along with the link for the spreadsheet!
Brian
------------------
[Edited last by Brian Bunge on November 06, 2001 at 09:18 PM]

JimRHIT

Stunt Coordinator