How to hook-up a 2600 to a newer T.V.?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott Van Dyke, Jan 2, 2003.

  1. Scott Van Dyke

    Scott Van Dyke Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    The old switch boxes just have wires to run to your VHF screws. Do I need some kind of expensive converter to get to RCA? What's the deal?
     
  2. Drue Elrick

    Drue Elrick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your local Radioshack should sell a VHF screws to VHF coax adapter for a few bucks. (You'll need a coax cable to go to your TV's input, naturally)
     
  3. Jason Seaver

    Jason Seaver Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    9,306
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's also worth mentioning that these old machines put out a fairly weak signal, so using a newer, automatic switchbox won't work. (For example, the box included with my Jaguar wouldn't work on the 7800 despite all the ports being the same)

    Also, Radio Shack does sell switchboxes that have a switch and a coax out.
     
  4. Drue Elrick

    Drue Elrick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 1998
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just remembered seeing a screw to male coax adaptor that goes directly onto your UHF plug on the TV so no cable is needed.
     
  5. Allen_Appel

    Allen_Appel Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any way to convert the coaxial signal to composite? I just hooked up the Sega Genesis, in addition to the PS2, GC, Xbox and DC.
     
  6. Dean Cooper

    Dean Cooper Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    3
     
  7. David Lawson

    David Lawson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    0
    You could also use the RF Demodulator sold at Radio Shack.
     

Share This Page