What's new

How to hagle? (1 Viewer)

Jeff Braddock

Second Unit
This is specifically dealing with ht equipment. There are only 3 ht shops in the area. One sells stuff way out of my price range (Martin Logan etc). At one place, they treated me like crap. So I'm not a millionaire... That doesn't give you license to treat me like pond scum. The other place I really like. They have always been nice and helpful. The problem is they won't budge on the price of a receiver. He said if I bought the speakers and receiver at one time, then they could discount it, but not more than 10% max. It is my first time buying here so I don't expect a huge discount, but some would be nice. Is there any good way to haggle with these guys?

Thanks

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
I say the best way is to be ready to walk out the door. It's even better if you have a pocketfull of cash and you are ready to buy right there and then. Other tricks would be to go in at the end of the week or the end of the month so that they are more eager to make their week end or month end sales look better.
Go in with a price in mind. Say the receiver is $1100 regular price. Go in with a price in mind like $950 or something like that. Another would be $1100 taxes in(which is good up here with 14.5% tax). Also tell them you are talking a cash deal and that you want to buy today. If they say they can't move, ask them again to make sure they can't move. Then thank them for their time and walk out the door. There is a very good chance they will be willing to talk before you get to the door.
Hopefully this will work out for you. I know haggling can be stressful but the best thing to remember is this guy is trying his hardest to make as much money for himself as possible.