What's new

How to evaluate my new sub? (1 Viewer)

Wes Nance

Stunt Coordinator
Hi everybody,

There have been some *great* discussions on this board lately, very helpful. Thanks!

I've been listening to my new Stryke 12.3 sub, and I really like it. I don't really have any reference, though, to compare it to, as my former sub was a tiny Polk PSW250 8" that really didn't have any output below 35hz.

I'm wondering if I could get any guidance about what to listen for and how to evaluate my new sub? I'm a musician by trade, so my ears are highly trained. This sub has to do everything- classical, pop, jazz, etc., plut HT. I've read that PR subs have a distinctive sound.

I notice that the sub has a very open and easy sound- not compressed at all, and I've not heard it sound like it's even working hard at all on any music.

But things like kick drum don't have quite the punch I thought it would, but I'm wondering if that could be:

1. This isn't a sealed box sub

2. I seem to have a hole in the room around the mid 50hz

I know this is all highly subjective stuff, but any guidance/advice would be great. Mostly I want to make sure the sub is put together right, eg no leaks, braced enough, etc., as I won't be building another one.

Thanks for all the info-

Wes Nance

Patrick Sun

Senior HTF Member
Lack of punch is mainly due to low tuning, that's what you give up for being able to extend the response down low in the low 20's. Sub's always entail compromises (size, extension, output - pick any 2 out of 3 => "Hoffman's Iron law").

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
I notice that the sub has a very open and easy sound- not compressed at all, and I've not heard it sound like it's even working hard at all on any music.

But things like kick drum don't have quite the punch I thought it would, but I'm wondering if that could be:

1. This isn't a sealed box sub

2. I seem to have a hole in the room around the mid 50hz