How does your receiver turn on remote amps?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Larry Boyd, May 4, 2002.

  1. Larry Boyd

    Larry Boyd Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am receiving a new Sony DA3ES receiver from JandR. In the future I want to use an old Proton D540 in bridged mode to drive an SVS subwoofer. I want this external amp to turn on when I power up my receiver. I need a surge protector so I thought I would plan for the future. I've look around and the cheapest thing I can find with remote power switching or delayed turn for amps is the Monster Cable HTS2500 which is close to $200. What are the other options?
     
  2. Joseph_Mikhail

    Joseph_Mikhail Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    My amp has two choices. It has a music sense that will detect an audio signal which will cause it to come out of stand-by mode. The other is a 30-volt remote trigger from the receiver. Some receivers don't offer this option.
     
  3. GordonL

    GordonL Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2000
    Messages:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Goto www.sears.com and search for "autoswitch".
    It's an outlet strip that senses when power is applied to the main outlet and turns on two other outlets. Only $20. Useful for amps that don't have 12volt triggers.
     
  4. EarleD

    EarleD Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2000
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    3
    The Sears autoswitch works great and its only $20.

    Earle
     
  5. Larry Boyd

    Larry Boyd Auditioning

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys! You saved me a bundle. Now Maybe I'll pick up those Outlaw interconnects I've been eyeing.
     

Share This Page