What's new

How do u get better at web design? (1 Viewer)

Ning Wong

Stunt Coordinator
Are there any good books out there?

I'm a newbie web designer, and i wnat to learn how to be better.....

I know there are tons of online sites as well.

Can someone point me in the right direction?
thanks!

Brian Mansure

Second Unit
Not really a "design" site but for good ole HTML help I'd start at www.htmlgoodies.com .
Really good basic to intermediate tutorials that are easy to follow and very informative IMO.
Concepts and design will eventually come to you but ya gotta have solid knowledge/background in HTML to do web design.
Once you learn HTML you can branch off into DHTML, ColdFusion, ASP, PHP, javascript... the list goes on.
HTML will allow you to design and maintain static web sites but the future of the web is dynamically driven sites and applications.
Good luck,
Brian

MikeFR

Supporting Actor
For websites check out w3schools.com for basic reference, as for books I recommend the HTML Black Book, Coriolis is the publisher I believe. Excellent book for both examples and reference at the same time and it presents topics in a friendly organized manner. By far the best text book on web design Ive used... its so good I dont need it anymore :)
The Black book also offers a very good intro to style sheets and javascript which leads into some basic DHTML. Also covers basic PERL and XML.

John K Carter

Stunt Coordinator
For books take a look at McGraw Hill's Web Design The Complete Reference 2nd Edition. 900 pages

A few of the things covered: Site Types & Architectures, Navigation Theory, Color harmony & Image formats, Standard sizes for buttons, banners and so on. Good one to have on the shelf.