What's new

Hi Guys! Newbie here and looking at RPTV's (1 Viewer)

Mark_ON

Auditioning
I'm in the market for a new RPTV. I have narrowed it down to the Toshiba 50" or the Panasonic 53". What do you guys think? Is there other models I should be looking at in the 3,000cdn price range?
By the way I live just west of Toronto, Canada. If any of you are from this area and know any good shops for deals I would really appreicate it. So far I am looking at Best Buy and Future Shop.
Thanks in advance.

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
hi mark -

i highly recommend you check out the Hitachi 51SWX20B.

all the reviews i've read have absolutely gushed on this thing. i think (but am not sure now) that it even won a tv of the year type award from sght.

it's on my very short list. do a search in the tv forum on this...i know i posted a thread about it there too.

Jack Briggs

Senior HTF Member
Welcome to the best home theater-related site on the Internet, Mark. I moved your post here because I believe you'll get more help. Good luck on your decision!

Todd Larsen

Auditioning
Mark,

I was looking for a new RPTV widescreen in January. I looked and compared the Hitachi 57UWX to the Toshiba 57HDX both roughly $3800-$4000 CAD. I stumbled across a Pioneer SD533HD5, which I purchased for $3,650 CAD delivered. I can say the Pioneer is much more tweakable with easy access to the service menu than my previous Hitachi 43FDX. I felt the image for DVD was much better than either the UWX or HDX. In fact a coworker bought an HDX just prior to me and once he saw the Pioneer he returned the HDX for the 533. I know this is a little over the $3000 you are considering but it may be money well spent, good luck!

Charlie B. Ch.

Stunt Coordinator