What's new

Hi folks! Status of DLP (1 Viewer)

StevenR

Auditioning
Hi folks!

I've been using my Toshiba x81 56" for 5 years and it is long for the wear (some burn in, drift, etc)

I am interested in HD and DLP. Plasmas is out as I burned one set in, I don't trust myself :)

What is the status/state of the art for home DLP these days? If I walk into Standard/Best Buy/Good Guys etc, what should i be looking for?

I want to drive it with a HD DVR (Hopefully a TiVo but that is another agonizing topic). I have a Toshiba SD9100 DVD player, etc.

I have seen the DLPs get better and better, but the sources vary so much it is tough to figure out if the costco membership would be worth it on a purchase.

It seems that new models come out every three months.

Where is a good buying guide/comparison site?

I know about Cable Card, HDMI, DVI, etc. I want something that will grow. Are these 720P, 1080i, I've even heard that some sets might take 1080p.

How does the broadcast flag work into all of this?

Thanks so much for your time and input.

Steve in Beaverton

Kin

Agent
Hi Steve,
I wouldn't worry too much about the cable card at this point. They are only 1 way right now. So you would sacrifice the cable supplied menu system, and any pay per view you may use. I would be more concerned about the HDMI, DVI inputs.

It is a pretty good idea to stay with the industry leaders. Samsung is at the top of that list (also happens to have an HDMI, DVI, and VGA in). Toshiba and Panasonic are top performers also.

All the DLP sets out there will display 720P and 1080I. There are some sets coming out this summer that will do 1080P, but there is no solid date on them.

Another thought... Have you taken a look at the JVC DILA technology? That is my personal favorite, right now. It has the smallest amount of space between the pixels. The black model is available now, too.

What size are you looking for?

Are you working with any kind of budget?