What's new

Help with audio hum, and scrolling display lines. (1 Viewer)

Vic Matthews

Auditioning
I am new to home theater and to this forum, but I'm hoping you can help me out. I just set up my new Panasonic 50" plasma, Pioneer VSX-914k receiver, and got my HD box and cable service. I am getting some type of interference that is showing up as a hum through the subwoofer, and as white horizontal lines scrolling up the display screen.

Here are some key observations. If I route my component cables directly from the cable box to the display, the problem is much less, but when routed through the Pioneer receiver, it is unbearable. I thought it was a problem with the receiver, so I returned it and bought an Onkyo sr602, set it all up, and had the same problem. Why are the lines so much worse through the receiver? How can I get rid of them? Is there some type of power filter I can buy that will eliminate this?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
What do you have everything plugged into? What else is on that circuit? Sounds like you have noise on that circuit.

If you disconnect the cable, does the hum go away in the sub? If so, you can use an isolation transformer - about $10 from www.partsexpress.com

Vic Matthews

Auditioning
I have everything plugged into a Monster surge protector. I have not tried disconnecting the cable, but the hum goes away when I route the cable box directly to the display instead of through the receiver. Of course I'd prefer to have everything through the receiver. Thanks.

DavidNighorn

Stunt Coordinator